News Updates

Three MDA New Dentists, ADA 10 Under 10 Awards

Honoring dentistry’s rising stars who are less than 10 years after graduating from dental school.

MDA New Dentist members continue to shine! Three were selected for the American Dental Association 10 Under 10 Awards. Congratulations Drs. Emily Hahn, Erinne Kennedy and Megan Lenahan!

The ADA announced March 16 the recipients of its annual 10 Under 10 Awards, which recognizes 10 new dentists who demonstrate excellence early in their careers. 
Selected by the ADA New Dentist Committee from more than 100 nominations, the recipients represent the future of the dental profession, said Dr. Alex Mellion, chair of the Subcommittee on New Dentist Engagement, which recommended the winners. Nominees and winners had to be active ADA members who graduated between 2011 and 2020. Read more here and here

Dr. Emily Hahn, St. Louis, is the owner of Skyview Pediatric Dentistry and a pediatric dentist at the St. Louis Children’s Hospital. She holds leadership roles with the Greater St. Louis Dental Society, the board of directors for the West County District, the Missouri Academy of Pediatric Dentistry and the Missouri Dental Association. Dr. Hahn also works with the Special Olympics as the Missouri Special Smiles clinical director.

Dr. Erinne Kennedy, Joplin, aims to continue to integrate public health work into dental education. She serves as an assistant professor and director of pre-doctoral education at Kansas City University’s College of Dental Medicine. She is a part-time lecturer in the oral health policy and epidemiology department at Harvard University School of Dental Medicine.

Dr. Megan Lenahan, Rock Hill,  is a pediatric dentist at Lenahan Smiles Pediatric Dentistry. Recognized in 2020 by the Missouri Dental Association as its 2020 Outstanding New Dental Leader, Dr. Lenahan currently serves on the Greater St. Louis Dental Society’s executive board and is a member of the Missouri Emergency Response Identification team.

2021 ADA 10 Under 10 Award Winners